Hating Pants

I hate pants. You buy them to fit well, but then you gain 5 pounds and they’re too tight. I feel like a tool when I need to have the button undone. And if you do that, then you can’t wear a belt. Sometimes you’re supposed to tuck in (possibly the #1 worst part about dressing up)… they’re just awash with possible problems.

Right, so after a while of this, I decided it was smarter to lose a few pounds than to buy a full wardrobe of pants that fit. But not all my pants were too tight, and now I own a few pairs that are too large, and fall down unless I wear a belt. I’m still not used to this, so sometimes I’m out and feeling like a 15-year old boy who’s trying to look cool by showing as much boxers as pants. Except looking ridiculous isn’t cool (despite what passes for fashion) and again, I feel like a tool.

It seems economically sound to buy pants and just eat and exercise so that they always fit. They’re actually an early warning system for weight gain or loss, and possibly a better one than a bathroom scale, because fitting clothes matters more than an exact number weight.

Let’s go back to togas and robes, ok?

Posted on October 17, 2009, in Ideas, Thinking Out Loud and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

