Psychology and Math

I think it’s interesting how if I were to tell a grade 9 class (14-year-olds) that girls outperform boys in math until age 15, that the girls probably would outperform the boys, but if I said instead that boys surpass girls at age 13, the boys would outperform.

If I say, “This course is challenging,” does that mean that students will do poorly compared to if I had said “This course is easy”?  I would say it’s challenging in order to emphasize the importance of practice (i.e. homework) and studying, but could I instill the work ethic and create a better psychological effect with a different phrase?  “This course is easy for those who keep up with homework and studying”?  Or possibly even better, a single word, “This course is ___”

I would probably do well to learn more about this, so I can figure out how to have positive effects, but even more importantly, to avoid creating negative ones.

Anyone know of any resources?

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Social Science, Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If you have not already, I would very strongly recommend checking out the JUMPMath program (www.jumpmath.org). They place a huge emphasis on positive reinforcement in the classroom, and have at least some empirical information to back this up.

  2. I will! I’ve heard about it before, but never actually bothered to check it out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

